Do The Right Thing

Photo credit: moritzaust

Photo credit: moritzaust

Ever since I decided to chart my own path I have based my decisions on what I feel is the right thing to do. But what is the right thing? In Spike Lee’s movie Do The Right Thing, Mookie is told to do the right thing by nearly everyone he encounters in the course of the day. Yet, no one ever tells him what to do, or what that even means. It’s just something he had to figure out on his own.

Do the right thing. But what is the right thing? There’s no simple answer. What’s right for you may not be right for me, and that’s okay.

Call it what you want: karma, fate, destiny, or doing the right thing. Every day I see firsthand that if I do what I feel is needed in a given situation, if I do what I feel is the right thing to do, it pays itself back with dividends. The world has enough negativity already, it doesn’t need any more. If you put good out into the world, you’ll get good back.

Leave a Reply

